On running

Exercise and running in particular was not exactly my cup of tea when I was a youngster.

20130205-220442.jpg

After a rather slow start I found running to be perhaps the best excersise for myself and a huge help in getting fitter as well as losing weight.

Now after having been an active runner for almost 8 years it is more a necessity to get out and enjoy the fresh air.

20130205-220929.jpg

The capital region of Finland ie. Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa is excellent for runners and outdoors people because there are a lot of good running paths and you can choose between running seaside or in the forests.

20130205-221412.jpg

Small details can be seen all around, whether in the scenery or in man made objects.

20130205-221649.jpg

Snow and ice dominate the outdoors at the moment.

20130205-221843.jpg

20130205-222056.jpg

Some parts of the ice are open all year with the current being too fast.

20130205-222308.jpg

Small bridges help to get from an island to another. And after such a nice run along the shores of the sea one can feel at peace and enjoy the feeling of having done something.

4 thoughts on “On running

  1. I am just getting into running- I’ve always been a treadmill person, but I just ran my first 5k and had a ball. I didn’t realize how much more interesting it is to run outside! I’ve run a couple times this week and the time and distance goes by a LOT faster than on a treadmill staring at the wall. How often and how far do you run?

    1. Hey, thanks for dropping by my page 🙂 I tend to run more in the three warmer seasons, usually 3-4 times a week. In the mid-winter it is more a upkeeping effort, just to stay at the level achieved. Usually 3 times a week when healthy. I additionally visit the gym a couple of times a week.

      My usual routine is to do two runs of around 8-10k in the week and a longer run is for the weekend. Last sundays run, which inspirded this post was a full 22k run. Mostly to see where my level is now and how hard I need to start running in the spring as snow thaws.

      My intention at this point is to run a half-marathon in May and possibly a full marathon in August. If I stay relatively healthy that is.

Leave a Reply

