Gavia Stellata – Red throated loon (Kaakkuri)

There a birds an then there are birds.  

One of the more rare and special birds I have gotten to photograph this year is pictured below:

Photograph Red-Throated Loon by Jere Ketola on 500px

A Red throated Loon, is a very beautiful and quite rare bird. Especially here in Southern Finland where I reside. I have seen this beautiful bird from afar many times and heard its song in the wild but yesterday was the first time in my life that I got close to it. And what a beautiful sight. Luckily this time the search was on for something to photograph so I was carrying a proper camera and also a longer lens.  

Photograph Gavia Stellata by Jere Ketola on 500px

This shot was taken hand-held on my knees in the swamp. A hilarious sight, but was really needing to get as close to eye level as possible so as to get a good composition. A beautiful day. 

 

Leave a Reply

